Strawberry Custard Tart

10 Jul

When I was sixteen I worked in a bakery. Among the specialties were some tiny strawberry tarts filled with bavarian cream, topped with strawberries and a strawberry glaze. I thought of this immediately when I was deciding what to do with all those strawberries. I made a larger version with a pâte sablée from a book I’m currently in the process of reviewing for  Cookthatbook.com. It uses almonds, flour, butter and an egg and I love the richness it brings.  I made a custard with egg yolks, milk, and a bit of flour and then arranged the strawberries on top. Although I made a glaze, ultimately I decided to use just a drizzle.  The custard made this rather gooey and delicious.

Strawberry Tart Photography © 2012 Helena McMurdo

3 Responses to “Strawberry Custard Tart”

  1. Stay-At-Home-Chef July 21, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    Gorgeous. Absolutely gorgeous. And I love the idea of almond flour in the mix…that must have given the pastry and nice nuttiness that otherwise would be missing. Can’t wait for the review!

  2. R Taylor September 13, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    The tart is absolutely amazing! The gooeyness of the custard makes my mouth water!

  3. Silent H September 13, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

    Thanks for the kind comments! I love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

